AMAC 2015 Catalyst Awards

Catalyst- a person or thing whose talk, enthusiasm or energy causes a change.

Call for Nominations The AMAC Catalyst Awards honor members who have made outstanding contributions to furthering the goals of AMAC. All AMAC members are invited to nominate individuals or organizations in one or more of the categories listed below. Winners will be honored at the 2015 AMAC Business Diversity Conference in Fort Lauderdale, Florida, on June 16, 2015. Nominations should be submitted to and must be received by May 15, 2015.

Award Categories

Airport AEC Innovation and Inclusion Award (Architectural, Engineering, Construction) Award: This award honors an airport or corporation that has met or exceeded DBE and MWBE participation goals over a period of not less than two years in an architectural, engineering, or construction project.

Airport Concessions Innovation and Inclusion Award: This award honors an airport or corporation whose concessions program has met or exceeded their ACDBE goal over a period of not less than two years.

Advocate of the Year Award: This award recognizes an individual within the industry who has been an outstanding spokesperson, educator, innovator and advocate for diversity inclusion in the workforce or small business participation in contracting. Nominees should demonstrate how their support through research, business development, technical assistance and community relations has been pivotal to the growth of student scholarship and workforce development.

Small Business Partner Award: This award honors a small business that has demonstrated support of AMAC’s mission and goals and has made a significant impact on their community and workforce.

AMAC Strategic Partner Award:  This award honors an AMAC corporation that has demonstrated diversity inclusion within its corporate structure of procurement and employment. Nominees are viewed within the industry as a leader for supplier diversity, best practices and fostering business capacity with its diverse partners. Nominees should demonstrate support of AMAC’s goals and mission.

Airport Top Flight Award:  This award honors an airport for significant contributions toward the realization of DBE, ACDBE or EEO goals within an airport (e.g. program implementation, new program initiatives to foster growth and development of DBEs or encourage employment, research, litigation, etc.) in support of diversity inclusion.


Hall of Fame Award:  This award honors an individual(s), who has demonstrated historical, sustainable and profound contributions to the aviation industry and exhibited a positive impact on diversity inclusion within the industry. This individual(s) has provided continuous support of AMAC’s mission and goals, as well as the growth and development of airport diversity.

President's Award:  AMAC’s success depends upon the engagement of its membership. This award recognizes an AMAC volunteer member for demonstrating leadership, service and dedication to executing the AMAC mission and strategic plan during the fiscal year.

Chairman’s Award:  This awards honors a change agent from inside or outside the organization who has helped AMAC transform itself by focusing on such matters as organizational effectiveness, improvement, and development.

Submission of Nominations

Any AMAC member or organizational member in good standing may nominate an individual or an organization. Please click here to access the 2015 Award Nomination Form to submit your nomination or otherwise follow the format in preparing your nomination. Provide a concise statement as to why your nominee should be recognized, and also include a high-resolution headshot photograph.  Nominations should be sent by May 15, 2015 to, or faxed to the attention of Linda Washington at 703-414-2622.

Selection Process

AMAC has designated an Awards Committee with responsibility to:

  • Evaluate nominations
  • Confirm nominees meet award criteria
  • Make final recommendations to the Board of Directors

Date and Place of Awards Program

The awards will be presented at the 2015 Airport Business Diversity Conference Awards Luncheon on Tuesday June 16, 2015.

Questions and Additional Information

Linda Washington

Please click here to access the 2015 Award Nomination Form.
2015 Award Nomination Form